Bread.

 

Real bread. Not gluten free  bread. (ok I admit. SOME have been ok, but come on. You taste the real stuff and it’s like sweet heaven in your mouth.)

I know it may seem strange, but with having celiacs, this is one of the most difficult things I’ve had to deal with.

I’m always trying to find bread like things to give me that fix. Unfortunately it just doesn’t cut it.  My mouth waters every time I smell bread.  But only certain breads.  Store bought bread I absolutely HATE the smell of. It makes me gag every time I walk past it. I have to put myself in this happy place just to control the urge of wanting to vomit in the middle of the aisle.

Now homemade bread? Yes. I LOVE it. My mother makes the best bread and is famous around her area for them.  She is always getting requests to make it. I miss sitting there in the kitchen embracing the smell of the bread baking in the oven. Then tasting it when it first comes out all nice and warm. My favorite was putting butter and jam on it.

Gluten free bread can’t compete. I have tried different kinds and it just doesn’t have that same appeal. I know some may think, “Why not sneak a little taste?” As much as I would LOVE to, it’s not an option for me.  I get REALLY sick and become best friends with the toilet if I allow myself to gorge into this sweet temptation. And if I’m not careful and continue to eat this way, it can do serious damage to me and even create tumors. So as much as I would LOVE to, I can’t. (I know I could probably sneak a teeny taste, but I know that I would gorge in and not stop so another reason why it’s not worth it. )

I do what I can to make the most of it, but I’m not going to lie. It’s very tough at times. When you are used to eating a certain way your whole life and then all of the sudden have it taken away from you, it’s not easy.

So today, I salute you bread. You are something that I will be craving for the rest of my life.

